

Council Meeting

Minutes

C#30-18 Monday, December 3, 2018, 7:30 p.m. Richmond Hill Centre for the Performing Arts 10268 Yonge Street Richmond Hill, Ontario

The Inaugural Meeting of the Council of the Town of Richmond Hill for the term of office December 1, 2018 to November 14, 2022 was held on Monday, December 3, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. at the Richmond Hill Centre for the Performing Arts, Richmond Hill.

Council Members Present:

Mayor Barrow Regional and Local Councillor DiPaola Regional and Local Councillor Perrelli Councillor Beros Councillor Muench Councillor Liu Councillor West Councillor Cilevitz Councillor Chan

Staff Members Present:

- N. Garbe, Chief Administrative Officer
- I. Brutto, Commissioner of Environment and Infrastructure Services
- M. Dempster, Commissioner of Corporate and Financial Services
- K. Kwan, Commissioner of Planning and Regulatory Services
- I. Simanovskis, Commissioner of Community Services
- A. Dimilta, Town Solicitor
- S. Kraft, Fire Chief
- L. Procter Maio, Chief Executive Officer, Richmond Hill Public Library
- P. Caron, Director, Director, Facility Design, Construction and Maintenance
- B. Ellsworth, Deputy Fire Chief Support Services
- G. Galanis, Director, Development Planning

- M. Gandhi, Director, Communication Services
- D. Joslin, Director, Recreation and Culture
- P. Lee, Director, Policy Planning
- P. Masaro, Director, Design and Construction Services
- G. Onizuka, Assistant Town Solicitor
- T. Ricketts, Director, Corporate Asset Management and Environment Services
- D. Terzievski, Director, Development Engineering and Transportation
- D. Alexander, Manager, Access Richmond Hill
- R. Ban, Manager, Information Governance
- M. Elsenaar, Manager, Recreation Facility Operations
- M. Grit, Theatre Manager
- C. Mollison, Firefighter
- A. Ng, Firefighter
- D. Ruberto, Legislative and Accessibility Coordinator
- D. Fiore, Executive Assistant to the Mayor
- R. Healey, Outreach/Community Liaison Coordinator
- L. Bogatko, Administrative Assistant to the Town Clerk
- A. Daneshvar, Administrative Assistant to Members of Council
- A. Dempster, Community Liaison Assistant
- A. Foran, Legislative and Projects Advisor/Lottery Licensing Officer
- B. Inglis, Legislative and Projects Advisor/Lottery Licensing Officer
- S. Kavassalis, Administrative Assistant to Members of Council
- S. Margolin, Administrative Assistant to Members of Council
- M. Rothschild, Distribution Clerk
- S. Huycke, Town Clerk
- G. Collier, Deputy Town Clerk
- S. Dumont, Council/Committee Coordinator
- K. Hurley, Council/Committee Coordinator
- L. Sampogna, Council/Committee Coordinator

Call to Order

Stephen Huycke, Town Clerk, called the Inaugural Meeting of the 2018 to 2022 Council of the Town of Richmond Hill to order.

S. Huycke welcomed everyone in attendance, and introduced and extended congratulations to the Council Elect of the Town of Richmond Hill for the 2018 to 2022 term.

S. Huycke acknowledged Richmond Hill's Members of Provincial Parliament, former Richmond Hill Town Councillors, and York Regional Police representation in attendance at the Inaugural Meeting.

National Anthem

The St. Theresa of Lisieux Catholic High School Choir performed the National Anthem.

Invocation

Reverend James Ravenscroft of the Richmond Hill United Church performed the Invocation.

Declarations of Office

His Worship Asad Malik, Justice of the Peace, administered the Declarations of Office to Mayor Barrow, Regional and Local Councillor DiPaola, Regional and Local Councillor Perrelli, Councillor Beros, Councillor Muench, Councillor Liu, Councillor West, Councillor Cilevitz and Councillor Chan.

Stephen Huycke, Town Clerk, extended congratulations to each Member of the 2018 to 2022 Town of Richmond Hill Council, and presented the Mayor with the Chain of Office.

Inaugural Address

Mayor Barrow welcomed all those in attendance to the Inaugural Meeting of Council, and acknowledged the traditional territory upon which the meeting was being held. Mayor Barrow introduced his family members and guests, and thanked them for their ongoing support.

Mayor Barrow then delivered his Inaugural Address. He acknowledged the implementation and continuation of the various Town policy documents which were developed together as a community, and noted priority would be given to the review of the Official Land Use Plan and Transportation Plan for the municipality. Mayor Barrow highlighted some of his objectives for the new term of office which included the formation of a Sustainability Committee to bring forward a strategic policy regarding the Town's capital financial needs, and an Economic Development Committee to ensure the Town continued to be a smart place to do business. He proposed the creation of two Deputy Mayors to allow both of the Regional and Local Councillors to share the duties and responsibilities of the position, and noted continued dialogue with the Province and neighbouring municipalities for the Yonge Street subway.

Mayor Barrow welcomed back the returning Members of Council, and welcomed the new Members of Council, and advised that he looked forward to working with each of them over the next 4 years. Mayor Barrow reviewed Council's responsibility to lead by example with respect of each other, staff and the people for which they serve.

Inaugural Remarks

Members of Council delivered their Inaugural Address in the following order:

Regional and Local Councillor Joe DiPaola Regional and Local Councillor Carmine Perrelli Councillor Greg Beros, Ward 1 Councillor Tom Muench, Ward 2 Councillor Castro Liu, Ward 3 Councillor David West, Ward 4 Councillor Karen Cilevitz, Ward 5 Councillor Godwin Chan, Ward 6

Each Member of Council introduced his or her guests and made their remarks regarding commitments and challenges facing the Town during the new term of office.

Closing Remarks

Mayor Barrow thanked everyone for attending the Inaugural Meeting and noted again that he looked forward to working with Council and the residents over the next term.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:55 p.m.

Council procession and recessional was led by Piper Ned Lecic of the Richmond Hill Centennial Pipe Band and Members of the Richmond Hill Fire and Emergency Services Honour Guard.

Dave Barrow, Mayor

Stephen M.A. Huycke, Town Clerk